Integrating an SNMP Server with Embotics® vCommander®

When you configure policies in vCommander, special events are recorded when something triggers policy enforcement (for example your compliance policy could enforce that a "role" attribute be configured for each VM, and trigger when no role has been entered). These events are called alerts. In addition, an audit log is kept in the Alerts and Events tabs for the objects involved (from the managed system level down to the VM level). You can also configure several policies to send out SNMP traps or emails.

You can set up SNMP so that these alerts are fed into a notification system such as an enterprise management console or an SNMP trap listener.

NotePencil-smallvCommander's SNMP integration is not used to monitor the system; it merely sends out traps to your monitoring systems about policy violations.

Configuring SNMP

Access through:

Configuration menu > System Configuration > Integration tab

Available to:

vCommander Role of Superuser

To configure SNMP:

1.At the bottom of the Integration page, click Add > SNMP.

2.In the SNMP Configuration dialog, enter the host name in the Host field.

Edit the port number if required (the default is 162).

3.In the Community field, enter the community string, then click OK.

Disabling or removing an SNMP server

Access through:

Configuration menu > System Configuration > Integration tab

Available to:

vCommander Role of Superuser

Disabling an external server makes the server unavailable for connections but saves the settings, meaning that you can return to the configuration dialog later and simply re-enable it.

Removing an external server clears the settings, meaning that you must reconfigure all of the settings if you want to reintegrate later.

To disable an external server

1.On the Integration page, select the server you want to disable, and click Edit.

2.Clear the Enabled checkbox, and click OK.

To remove an external server

1.On the Integration page, select the server you want to remove, and click Remove.

2.Click Yes to confirm the change.