Deleting a Deployed Service

Access through:

Views menu > Operational, VMs and Templates, or Datastore

Available to:

Administrator and All Operator Levels of Access Rights

Administrator Only for Deleting Load Balancers

When you delete a VM, template, database, virtual service, load balancer, auto scaling group, or stack, you are removing all of its associated resources (such as backing files). Deleting a service is permanent.

caution

After you complete this task, all the files associated with that service are removed from the datastore. If the service accesses data on multiple datastores, all the referenced files are deleted. If a file (such as a virtual disk file) that is used by more than one service is deleted, other services that use it can be damaged.

Notes

For vCenter VMs, see also Removing a VM or virtual service from inventory.

For public cloud VMs, deleting from disk is equivalent to terminating an instance. For AWS, deleting a template from disk is equivalent to deregistering an AMI. For Microsoft Azure, deleting a template from disk is equivalent to deleting an image.

When you delete an Azure Resource Manager VM, its disks, network interfaces and IP addresses are also deleted.

When you delete a virtual service or stack, all of its children are also deleted.

When you delete a load balancer, the associated VMs are automatically deregistered from the load balancer. As soon as the load balancer is deleted from AWS, you stop incurring charges for that load balancer. The VMs continue to run.

When you delete an auto scaling group, all VMs in the group are also deleted.

When you delete a database, Embotics® vCommander® does not take a final snapshot of the database. When a database with read replicas is deleted, all read replicas are promoted to master.

To delete a VM, template, virtual service, database or load balancer from disk:

1.Select the service you want to delete.

NotePencil-smallVMs and virtual services must be powered off.

2.For a VM or template, right-click, select Configuration Management > Delete from Disk and click OK.

For a virtual service, right-click, select Delete from Disk and click OK.

For a load balancer, database or auto scaling group, right-click, select Delete and click OK.