Managing VM Snapshots

By using a snapshot, you preserve the state of a VM so that you can return to that state any time you want without creating multiple VMs. Use a snapshot as a restoration point during a linear or iterative process (for example, installing update packages) or during a branching process (for example, installing different versions of a program). You can also use a snapshot as a baseline for a VM.

In this topic:

Creating VM snapshots

To create a VM snapshot:

  1. Select a VM.
  2. From the Actions menu, choose VM > Create Snapshot.
  3. In the Create Snapshot dialog box, complete the fields as required:
    • An identifying name (required)
    • A description that differentiates between similarly named snapshots
    • Enable Save Memory State if you want to capture the memory of a VM (applies only to VMs that are powered on)
    • Enable Quiesce to pause running processes on the guest operating system so that file system contents are in a known consistent state when the snapshot is taken (applies only to VMs that are powered on)
  4. Click OK.

    Information about your snapshot appears on the details pane for the VM.

Reverting VM snapshots

To revert to a previous snapshot:

  1. Select a VM.
  2. From the Actions menu, choose VM > Manage Snapshots.
  3. On the Manage Snapshots page, select an older snapshot in the directory tree.
  4. Click Go To.
  5. In the Confirm Go To Snapshot dialog, click OK.

    The details of the selected snapshot are available in the right-hand pane.

  6. Click Close.

Deleting VM snapshots

To delete one or all VM snapshots:

  1. Select a VM.
  2. From the Actions menu, choose VM > Manage Snapshots.
  3. On the Manage Snapshots page, do one of the following:
    • To delete one snapshot:
      1. Select a snapshot in the directory tree.
      2. Click Delete to remove the snapshot from inventory.
      3. In the Confirm Delete Snapshot dialog, click OK to confirm the deletion of the snapshot.
    • To delete all snapshots:
      1. Click Delete All.
      2. In the Confirm Delete All Snapshots dialog, click OK to confirm the deletion of all snapshots.
  4. Click Close.