Creating Completion Workflows

For examples of how to create a completion workflow, see Walk-Through: Creating a Workflow.

Access through:

Configuration > Self-Service

Available to:

Commander Role of Superuser and Enterprise Admin

To create a completion workflow:

  1. Click the Completion tab.
  2. Click Add.

    Tip: You can also select an existing workflow and click Copy. This option can save you time because it copies the selected workflow's configuration.

  3. On the Name & Type page, provide a name for the workflow.
  4. From the Apply this Workflow menu, choose when the workflow should be applied, then click Next:
    • If the completion workflow is for a service-level new request, choose after a Service is deployed.
    • If the completion workflow is for a component-level new request, choose after a <component type> is deployed. The component type may be a VM, shared VM, virtual service, cloud template, or custom component.
    • If the completion workflow is for a change request, choose after a Change Request is fulfilled.

    Your choice will determine the actions that are available on the Steps page of the wizard. You also can't change this choice once you have saved the workflow.

  5. On the Steps page, click Add and select a step to include in the workflow module, and then set its configuration parameters in the Step Details pane.

    When configuring steps, you should consider the following points:

    • By default, steps execute automatically. However, you can set steps to execute only for specific conditions. To make a step conditional, select Step Execution > Execute when conditions are met, then click Edit and define the condition. See Making Workflow Steps Conditional for more details.
    • By default, if a step fails when a workflow is run, no re-attempt to execute is made. If you want a workflow to re-attempt to execute a failed step, then click Add > Retry Selected Step. For more information, see Adding Retry Steps to Workflows.

  6. Continue to add steps to the workflow, as appropriate, then click Next after you have finished adding steps.

    Notes:  

    • To change the order of a step, use the up and down arrows, or click Delete to remove it.
    • The first step in a component-level completion workflow for a new VM should be a Wait For Event step that waits for the "Guest OS to power on" event, so that variables such as IP addresses exist before other steps are run.
  7. Assign the workflow:
    • For a service-level completion workflow for a new request: On the Assigned Services page, make this the default workflow, or select the services that will trigger this workflow's actions once deployed. You can create only one default service-level completion workflow.
    • For a component-level completion workflow for a new request: On the Assigned Components page, make this the default workflow, or select the components that will trigger this workflow's actions once deployed. You can create only one default component-level completion workflow for each component type.
    • For a completion workflow for shared VMs: On the Assignment page, make this the default workflow for all shared VMs, or, if you don't want to activate the workflow yet, select Do not apply this workflow to any Shared VM.
    • For a change request completion workflow: On the Assigned Forms page, make this the default workflow, or select the forms that will trigger this workflow's actions. You can create only one default completion workflow for change requests.
  8. On the Summary page, enter details about the workflow in the Description of Changes field.

    For example, you might describe the purpose of a new workflow or, if you are editing an existing workflow, the nature of the changes that you made.

  9. Review the workflow's configuration details, and click Finish when you're done.

    If necessary, go back to the appropriate pages and make changes.

Deleting completion workflows

At any time, you can remove a workflow from Commander. After you have removed a workflow, all settings associated with the workflow, including approvers and actors, emails, scripts, and any deployment information, are no longer available. To use those settings again, you must associate them with another workflow.

Access through:

Configuration > Self-Service

Available to:

Commander Role of Superuser and Enterprise Admin

To delete a completion workflow:

  1. Click the Completion tab.
  2. Select the workflow from the displayed list.
  3. Click Delete and confirm the deletion.