Deleting Deployed Services

When you delete a service, you're removing all of its associated resources (such as backing files). Deleting a service is permanent.

If a service accesses data on multiple datastores, all the referenced files are deleted. If a file (such as a virtual disk file) that's used by more than one service is deleted, other services that use it can be damaged.

If you delete a service that has children, such as a virtual service, auto scaling group or application stack, its children are also deleted.

AWS

  • Deleting an image from disk is equivalent to deregistering an AMI.
  • When you delete a load balancer, the associated VMs are automatically deregistered from the load balancer. As soon as the load balancer is deleted from AWS, you stop incurring charges for that load balancer. The VMs continue to run.
  • When you delete a database, Commander doesn't take a final snapshot of the database. When a database with read replicas is deleted, all read replicas are promoted to master.
  • Deleting from disk is equivalent to terminating an instance.

GCP

  • When Deletion Protection is enabled for a GCP VM, the Delete from Disk command is disabled in Commander.
  • Deleting an instance from disk is equivalent to terminating the instance.
  • Deleting a deployment deletes all of its resources.

Azure

  • When you delete an Azure instance, its disks, network interfaces, and IP addresses are also deleted.
  • When you delete an Azure SQL database, Commander doesn't take a final snapshot of the database.
  • Deleting from disk is equivalent to terminating an instance.

vCenter

Deleting services

Access through:

Views > Inventory > Infrastructure, Applications, or Storage

Available to:

Administrator and All Operator Levels of Access Rights

Administrator Access Rights for Deleting Load Balancers

To delete a VM, template, virtual service, database, or load balancer from disk:

  1. Select the service you want to delete.

    Note: VMs and virtual services must be powered off.

  2. Do one of the following:
    • For a VM or template, select Action > Configuration Management > Delete from Disk and click OK.
    • For a virtual service, right-click, select Action > Delete from Disk and click OK.
    • For a load balancer, database, or auto scaling group, select Action > Delete and click OK.