Share vCenter VMs

You can share exact copies of your vCenter VMs with other users and groups.

VM sharing is supported only for vCenter VMs.

For more information, see VM Sharing.

Access through:

Views > Inventory

Available to:

Administrator or Operator Access Rights

  1. Click the Virtual Machines tab.
  2. Select a vCenter VM in the tree or in a table and select Actions > Provisioning > Share VM.
  3. In the Share VM dialog, configure the following options:
    • Service Name — The name for the service in the Service Catalog. The Service Name is also included at the top of the email. This field is prepopulated with the name of the shared VM. It's helpful to provide a different name, so that the two tabs of the New Service Request Form don't have the same labels.
    • Service Description — A description for the service. The description appears in the Service Catalog and in the email.
    • Share With — Select one of the following options:
      • All users in organization — Share the VM any users in your organization.
      • Specific users— Share the VM with specific users or groups. Enter a user name or group name and click Add. You can add as many users as you like.

      Note: If you specify a Directory Services group that's a member of an organization, the email is sent to the email address for the group.

    • Preserve Memory State — If the VM is running or suspended, you can save the VM's memory state. Saving the memory state is useful for debugging memory-specific problems but increases the overall deployment time.
    • Keep Existing Owners — By default, the existing owners of the source VM are not kept as owners on VMs deployed from the shared service. Enable this option if you want to keep the owners of the source VM as owners of the deployed VM.
    • Days Available — Once a shared service's availability has lapsed, it's removed from the Service Catalog and can no longer be requested. In-progress service requests are unaffected.

      Note: This option isn't related to a VM's expiry date.

    • Send Email — By default, emails are sent to all recipients. Disable this option if you don't want to send emails. Users will still see the shared service in their Service Catalog.
    • Email Subject — The subject line for the email.
    • Comments — Additional comments that will be included in the email.
  4. Click OK.

    A VM snapshot is created and the service is added to the Service Catalog.

    Note: If the snapshot used to create the shared service is deleted, the Service Catalog entry will be disabled and no longer visible to users. In this case, you must share the VM again.

Related topics: