Deleting Deployed Services

When you delete a VM, template, database, virtual service, load balancer, auto scaling group or stack, you're removing all of its associated resources (such as backing files). Deleting a service is permanent.

After you complete this task, all the files associated with that service are removed from the datastore. If the service accesses data on multiple datastores, all the referenced files are deleted. If a file (such as a virtual disk file) that is used by more than one service is deleted, other services that use it can be damaged.

When you delete a virtual service or stack, all of its children are also deleted.

Cloud-specific notes

AWS

  • Deleting an image from disk is equivalent to deregistering an AMI.
  • When you delete an auto scaling group, all VMs in the group are also deleted.
  • When you delete a load balancer, the associated VMs are automatically deregistered from the load balancer. As soon as the load balancer is deleted from AWS, you stop incurring charges for that load balancer. The VMs continue to run.
  • When you delete a database, vCommander doesn't take a final snapshot of the database. When a database with read replicas is deleted, all read replicas are promoted to master.
  • Deleting from disk is equivalent to terminating an instance.

Azure

  • When you delete an Azure instance, its disks, network interfaces and IP addresses are also deleted.
  • Deleting from disk is equivalent to terminating an instance.

GCP

  • When Deletion Protection is enabled for a GCP VM, the Delete from Disk command is disabled in vCommander.
  • Deleting from disk is equivalent to terminating an instance.

vCenter

Deleting services

Access through:

Views menu > Operational, Deployed, or Storage

Available to:

Administrator and All Operator Levels of Access Rights

Administrator Access Rights for Deleting Load Balancers

To delete a VM, template, virtual service, database or load balancer from disk:

  1. Select the service you want to delete.

    VMs and virtual services must be powered off.

  2. For a VM or template, right-click, choose Configuration Management > Delete from Disk and click OK.
    • For a virtual service, right-click, choose Delete from Disk and click OK.
    • For a load balancer, database or auto scaling group, right-click, select Delete and click OK.